Microsoft Visio 2010 crashes very frequently : Resolved


I was working on DFD of an on-going project. For DFD designing I chose Microsoft Visio 2010 but after doing some work on that I came to know that Visio crashes very frequently. Believe me that for callout descriptions I need to copy paste a text and for achieving this task Visio crashed more than 20 times. Totally frustrating. Well I restarted the machine and somehow managed the crashes.

On very next day I need to update that DFD and again same thing happen to me as whenever I click on save, Visio got crashed. So I decide to analyse the problem of Visio and tried to fix it. So from that very time my Visio 2010 is working fine. Below are the description of what I analysed and fixed.

When we install Microsoft Visio 2010 in to system then by default a new add-in installed and activate inside Visio i.e. Send to Bluetooth. As when you open the Visio you will find the last tab as Add-Ins and when you click on that you will find that there is Send to Bluetooth in ribbon menu. This is the root cause of Visio crashing. So I disabled this and Visio working fine for me after doing this. Find steps below:

  1. Go to File > Options
  2. Visio Options window will pop up
  3. On left hand side menu of pop up window, click on Add-Ins
  4. Now on right hand side area make sure to select COM Add-Ins options in Manage dropdown box.
  5. Click on Go button that is in front of Manage dropdown box.
  6. COM-Add-Ins window will pop up
  7. In the list of available add-ins, unselect the checkbox in front of Send to Bluetooth.
  8. Click on OK button.
  9. Restart Visio 2010 and you see that now there is no Add-Ins menu.
  10. You are now ready to work smoothly.

Cheers 🙂

30 thoughts on “Microsoft Visio 2010 crashes very frequently : Resolved

  1. I was ready to smash the laptop with the amount of times visio-2010 crashed. It was unworkable. After removing the add-in it appears to now work well……..thankyou for the fix.

  2. Thanks for sharing this! Visio actually crashed when I tried to deactivated the add-in… However, deinstalling the entire Bluetooth app solved my problems!

  3. I had a desperate need to work with Visio during my holidays.
    After numerous crashes, I went in to the bathroom to cool down my head under the shower.
    Meanwhile that I looked into the mirror, I realized that I never saw somebody as green as I did about the misery with my copy of Visio 2010.
    Now you got me out of the Gates dungeon, I can see the light again!
    Thank you so much for sharing your information.

  4. Thank you so much. I was pulling my hair out trying to work on a file for 2 days; this did the trick. Really appreciate the time you took to investigate and then sharing your findings.

  5. My Visio 2010 Application does not have the Bluetooth com add-in installed. Visio still crashes upon saving a diagram file. Any other possible solutions?

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: VISIO.EXE
    Application Version: 14.0.7100.5000
    Application Timestamp: 51572cac
    Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
    Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18229
    Fault Module Timestamp: 51fb10c6
    Exception Code: e06d7363
    Exception Offset: 0000812f
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    LCID: 1033
    skulcid: 1033

  6. I tried to find the service pack and there is no service packs which can be applied. This trick fixed the crashing issue. Many thanks for this post

  7. I had this very issue. In my case, it wasn’t a Bluetooth add-on that caused the problem, but a PDF add-on installed by Acrobat. I guess add-ons are brittle in Visio 2010. Thanks!

  8. Hi guys after 2 days of figuring out what’s the matter with visio 2016. So sharing this, I have my Office Pro 2016 already installed before Visio. Since my version is a Click-to-run (c2r) I updated my Office 2016 version for example in the Word > Account > Updates > Update now. After updating it, Visio also works without crashing. 😀

Leave a Comment